The consequence if I break the Law of Free Will towards myself is that I will feel the pain of devaluing myself in all of my relationships.


So let’s get started. The first law is the Law of Free Will. So the Law of Free Will is that I’m allowed to do anything I want whether what I want to do is actually harmonious with love and actually building up other people or if it’s disharmonious with love and even destroying other people, I’m allowed to do whatever I want. So this is a primary law that God gave us, the gift of free will that God gave to every single person in the entire universe, not just to people on this earth.

So how does that affect our Love of Self? Well if I’m in a state where I respect the Law of Free Will within myself, every single time another person tries to get me to do what they want to do and I don’t want to do it, I would respect the fact that I don’t want to do it. So mum comes home from a hard day’s work and the family wants her to cook a meal. She doesn’t want to cook a meal but she does it anyway because she feels like she has to and she’s the only one who can cook well in the family; she’s just broken the Law of Free Will towards herself, just by doing that one thing.
Now people would justify that and say, “That’s a loving thing to do”, but remember we said right at the beginning if I am sacrificing myself in order to love another; I am not loving to myself or the other. So in this case if the woman comes home and she doesn’t want to make dinner, there doesn’t even have to be any reason for it; it might be that she is tired or it might be that she feels something else but she doesn’t even have to have a single reason to do this, she can just say, “I don’t want to make a meal tonight.” And if everyone in the family projected anger at her for not making a meal for them that night, they are also out of harmony with the Law of Free Will.

You see when we’re on the receiving end of other people’s anger, what do we normally try to do? We try to appease them; we try to make them feel better. So anger is actually a way that people use to control us. If I’m angry at somebody, I am actually wanting to control that person; I want them to do whatever I expect. So let’s say I decide I don’t want to cook a meal tonight. Of course, according to God’s other Laws that would also mean that I probably don’t want to eat the meal tonight and if I expected somebody else to cook for me that would also be unloving, wouldn’t it? So if I were the woman coming home from work saying, “I don’t want to cook a meal tonight”, and I
don’t cook a meal and nobody else cooks a meal for me and I get angry, now I’m out of harmony with the Law of Free Will. But if I’m feeling Free Will as a paramount law within the love of myself, what that will mean then is that I feel allowed to do whatever I wish.
Now most people around you do not let you do whatever you wish; in fact most of us were taught at a very young age that we are not allowed to do whatever we wish. Not only are we not allowed, “It’s not practical, you can’t live that way, its selfish” and we get all of these other emotions pummelled into us from a very young age about actually doing what you’re allowed to do. But from God’s perspective, God never does that. God never is going to punish you in the future for anything you chose to do; nothing is a punishment. That doesn’t mean that there aren’t consequences because there are certainly consequences when we break different laws, including the Law of Free Will.    The consequence if I break the Law of Free Will towards myself is that I will feel the pain of devaluing myself in all of my relationships.

Image

